Monday, April 25, 2022

Congratulations to our Agatha winners!

Last weekend, the Malice Domestic convention celebrating the traditional mystery was held in Bethesda, Maryland, the first in-person gathering in three years. Malice, as it's called, gives the annual Agatha Awards, commemorated with a fabulous teapot! In addition to this year's awards, for books published in 2021, winners from 2020 and 2019 were also recognized. Congratulations to two of our own, Mia Manansala, winner of the 2021 Agatha for Best First Novel, for Arsenic and Adobo, and Edith Maxwell, winner of the 2019 Agatha Award for Best Historical Novel, for Charity's Burden.

And no, that's not the regulation teapot Mia is holding -- the ceramics company that makes the fabulous Agatha teapots has not yet returned to full production, so the real thing wasn't available yet for this year's winners. Points to the organizers for a creative substitute! You can see how much fun the genuine article is in this picture of Edith. 

Our custom is to create bundles of cards featuring our book covers and recipes, which we share with readers at the convention. We saved a few to add to future group giveaways, so some of you may get an extra treat!


And of course, we're thrilled for all this year's winners. 
Here's the full list of nominees and winners, a giant teapot full of good reading!   

Congratulations to Mia and Edith
from your very proud Kitchen sisters! 


  1. CONGRATULATIONS, EVERYONE!! You all make reading enjoyable everyday!!
    Thank you.

  2. Congratulations, ladies!!

  3. Happy congratulations to Edith and Mia!!!


  4. You are all winners, with or without a tea pot to prove it!
    Libby Dodd