Thursday, October 19, 2017

Matcha Muffins Recipe by Gigi Pandian

Please welcome guest author Gigi Pandian with a recipe and giveaway for 8 book-themed recipe cards! Gigi’s fifth Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery, The Ninja’s Illusion, came out earlier this month. Welcome Gigi!

DON'T FORGET to leave a comment below for a chance to win a set of 8 book-themed recipe cards!

GIGI PANDIAN: One of my favorite things about traveling is that it can be a culinary adventure as much as a cultural one. All of my Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mysteries take historian Jaya Jones from her university in San Francisco to a different foreign destination—so far Scotland, India, France, Italy, and now Japan. I got to visit Japan last year while researching the book, and here’s a recipe inspired by the flavors of Japan.

I began learning how to cook after a cancer diagnosis left me with food restrictions. I didn’t want to give up eating wonderfully, so I took classes to learn how to recreate my favorite dishes, plus plenty of new ones. This is one of my new favorite recipes—









Unfortunately, I’m not the only one in my household who holds this opinion, so the muffins tend to disappear all too quickly!

Matcha Muffins
Green Tea adds a unique flavor to these honey-sweetened muffins.

Dry Ingredients
·      1/2 cup all-purpose flour
·      1/2 cup oat flour (if you don’t have oat flour, use 1 cup of all-purpose flour instead of the split)
·      1 tsp baking powder
·      2 tsp matcha (powdered green tea)
·      1/4 tsp salt

Wet Ingredients
·      3/4 cup coconut milk
·      1/4 cup honey
·      1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
·      1/2 tsp vanilla
Directions
Preheat oven to 400ºF, and line a muffin tin with 9 cupcake liners. Mix dry ingredients in one bowl, and wet ingredients in another. Stir dry mixture into wet, careful not to over-mix. Scoop into muffin tin, filling only about halfway since they’ll rise. Bake for approximately 12 minutes.


THE NINJA’S ILLUSION: A Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery

Historian Jaya Jones travels to Japan in hopes of solving the mystery of a trading ship that disappeared over 200 years ago—until she’s blown off course and must sacrifice her quest to save the life of her best friend. A travel-themed cozy that’s perfect for fans of Elizabeth Peters.

“[A] highly entertaining, fast-paced fifth outing for spunky historian Jaya Jones…As usual, Pandian dishes up authentic history and cultural tidbits along with a first-class mystery. She also adds just the right light touch of romance.” 
—Publishers Weekly


ABOUT GIGI PANDIAN

USA Today bestselling author Gigi Pandian is the child of cultural anthropologists from New Mexico and the southern tip of India. She spent her childhood being dragged around the world on their research trips, and now lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband and a gargoyle who watches over the backyard vegetable garden. Gigi's writes the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery Series and the Accidental Alchemist mysteries. Gigi's fiction has been awarded the Malice Domestic Grant and Lefty Awards, and shortlisted for Agatha and Macavity awards.


Learn more about Gigi at http://gigipandian.com/, sign up for her newsletter at http://gigipandian.com/newsletter/, and find her on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GigiPandian

20 comments: