Saturday, August 18, 2018

Chicken Francese #Recipe @PegCochran



I had this dish in a restaurant recently for the first time in years.  I'd forgotten how good it is!  I decided to make it for dinner at home and found a good recipe on Genius Kitchen.  These are the original measurements--I changed things up a bit.  I can never bring myself to use that much butter in a single dish!  My modifications are noted in the directions.

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut in half horizontally and pounded to an even thickness
olive oil
1 cup chicken broth (I probably used a bit less)
1 lemon, juiced
3 eggs (I managed with only one egg)
grated Parmesan cheese
flour
1 garlic clove, crushed (I minced mine)
parsley (I didn't have any)
1/2 cup unsalted butter (I used way less--probably two tablespoons) 

Cut your chicken in half horizontally and then pound.  I think pounding the chicken tenderizes it.  These were fork tender.






Nice and thin!

Dust breasts with flour.



 Beat egg(s) and add enough grated Parmesan to thicken.  Dip breast one at a time.



Heat a splash of olive oil in a pan until hot and shimmering.  Quickly brown chicken breasts on each side then remove to a plate and keep warm.




    Quickly saute garlic until golden then deglaze pan with wine.  (Dry vermouth will work in a pinch.)

    Add broth and butter and cook until butter has melted.





    Add lemon juice to taste and return chicken to pan.  Coat with sauce.



     Serve with rice or pasta to soak up delicious sauce!  

    OUT NOW!



    Barnes & Noble


    A Park Avenue princess discovers the dark side of 1930s New York when a debutante ball turns deadly in this gripping historical mystery for readers of Victoria Thompson, Anne Perry, and Rhys Bowen.

    Manhattan, 1938. Tired of being trapped in the gilded cage of her family’s expectations, Elizabeth Adams has done what no self-respecting socialite would think to do: She’s gotten herself a job. Although Elizabeth’s dream is to one day see her photographs on the front page of the Daily Trumpet, for now she’s working her way up as the newsroom’s gal Friday.

    But fetching coffee isn’t exactly her idea of fun, so when veteran reporter Ralph Kaminsky needs a photographer to fill in for a last-minute assignment, Elizabeth jumps at the chance. At the Waldorf Hotel, Elizabeth is tasked with tracking down the season’s “It girl,” Gloria DeWitt, who will be making her society debut. Working her own connections to New York’s upper crust, Elizabeth manages to land an exclusive interview with Gloria.

    Then Gloria’s stepmother is shot dead in a Waldorf bathroom, placing Elizabeth at the scene of a headline-worthy scandal: “Murder of a Society Dame.” Now Elizabeth will have to get the scoop on the killer before her good name gets dragged through the gossip columns—or worse. . . .

    From a Goodreads Review:

    "What absolute fun! Penned with wit, humor and style, MURDER, SHE REPORTED gets my definite, “Yes!”

    Catch up with me on Facebook!
    And check out my new website!




    OUT NOW!

    RT MAGAZINE TOP PICK!!



    “The clever ‘Dear Reader’ asides serve up just the right amount of dry wit, and the occasional blog post snippet provides readers with some helpful tips alongside their mystery. The case is always well plotted, and the fictitious Michigan small-town setting provides an intriguing supporting cast with a bevy of interesting personalities. Readers will root for Shelby to solve the case and stay on the edge of their seats until she does.”

    – RT Reviews


    OUT NOW--BOOK #4 IN THE CRANBERRY COVE SERIES



    Amazon
    Amazon Print
    Barnes & Noble

    It’s a marriage made in murder in the new Cranberry Cove Mystery from USA Today bestselling author Peg Cochran!

    The long-awaited wedding of Monica and Greg is the highlight of the harvest season in Cranberry Cove, drawing friends from far and wide to help them celebrate. Among the guests are an old college friend of Monica’s and the woman’s boisterous new husband, a man with many enemies and more than a few bitter women in his past. When he turns up dead on a boat, the victim of a fatal stabbing, Monica steps in once again to unravel the mystery.

    As she dredges up clues and wades through a long list of suspects, Monica’s sleuthing becomes all the more pressing when the local police are convinced that her friend did the deed. Monica will have to clear her name fast and track down the real culprit as the killer threatens to bring her sweet wedded bliss to a bitter end.

    Includes tasty recipes!
      

    ***








    7 comments:

    1. The recipe sounds delicious.

      ReplyDelete
    2. I always cut butter way back in recipes too.

      ReplyDelete
    3. This looks really tasty.
      The pounding tenderizes, but it also helps make them an even thickness for cooking.

      ReplyDelete