Saturday, June 30, 2018

Asian Cole Slaw #Recipe @PegCochran




This makes a nice change from the usual Cole slaw, potato salad or macaroni salad.  I found this recipe on-line and adapted it.  The original had diced avocado and mango in it.  I wasn’t feeling the avocado so I left it out along with the mango, which our supermarket didn’t have that day.  Instead, I substituted a small can of mandarin oranges.
These are the original quantities—more than enough to bring to a potluck or BBQ.  I halved it for the two of us and we had it for two nights with a dash leftover for lunch.

Salad
1 (16-ounce) bag coleslaw mix
2 (3-ounce) packages of ramen noodles, crumbled (save seasoning packet for another use)
1 cup shelled and cooked edamame
1/2 cup thinly-sliced almonds
1/2 cup thinly-sliced green onions (scallions)
1 small can mandarin oranges

Vinaigrette
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup honey  
1/4 cup rice vinegar
2 teaspoons soy sauce
1/4 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
pinch of salt and black pepper

Heat oven to 425 degrees.
Mix all ingredients for the vinaigrette in a bowl and whisk well to combine.  



Set aside.


Spread crumbled ramen noodles and sliced almonds on a baking sheet.  Stir.  Bake for approximately five minutes or until lightly toasted and golden. Watch it carefully.  
Add salad ingredients to a large bowl.  Add ramen noodles and almonds and vinaigrette and toss well to mix.  





Chill until ready to serve.








OUT NOW!

RT MAGAZINE TOP PICK!!



“The clever ‘Dear Reader’ asides serve up just the right amount of dry wit, and the occasional blog post snippet provides readers with some helpful tips alongside their mystery. The case is always well plotted, and the fictitious Michigan small-town setting provides an intriguing supporting cast with a bevy of interesting personalities. Readers will root for Shelby to solve the case and stay on the edge of their seats until she does.”

– RT Reviews




OUT NOW--BOOK #4 IN THE CRANBERRY COVE SERIES



Amazon
Amazon Print
Barnes & Noble

It’s a marriage made in murder in the new Cranberry Cove Mystery from USA Today bestselling author Peg Cochran!

The long-awaited wedding of Monica and Greg is the highlight of the harvest season in Cranberry Cove, drawing friends from far and wide to help them celebrate. Among the guests are an old college friend of Monica’s and the woman’s boisterous new husband, a man with many enemies and more than a few bitter women in his past. When he turns up dead on a boat, the victim of a fatal stabbing, Monica steps in once again to unravel the mystery.

As she dredges up clues and wades through a long list of suspects, Monica’s sleuthing becomes all the more pressing when the local police are convinced that her friend did the deed. Monica will have to clear her name fast and track down the real culprit as the killer threatens to bring her sweet wedded bliss to a bitter end.

Includes tasty recipes!
  

***


PRE-ORDER NOW! COMING JULY 31



Barnes & Noble


A Park Avenue princess discovers the dark side of 1930s New York when a debutante ball turns deadly in this gripping historical mystery for readers of Victoria Thompson, Anne Perry, and Rhys Bowen.

Manhattan, 1938. Tired of being trapped in the gilded cage of her family’s expectations, Elizabeth Adams has done what no self-respecting socialite would think to do: She’s gotten herself a job. Although Elizabeth’s dream is to one day see her photographs on the front page of the Daily Trumpet, for now she’s working her way up as the newsroom’s gal Friday.

But fetching coffee isn’t exactly her idea of fun, so when veteran reporter Ralph Kaminsky needs a photographer to fill in for a last-minute assignment, Elizabeth jumps at the chance. At the Waldorf Hotel, Elizabeth is tasked with tracking down the season’s “It girl,” Gloria DeWitt, who will be making her society debut. Working her own connections to New York’s upper crust, Elizabeth manages to land an exclusive interview with Gloria.

Then Gloria’s stepmother is shot dead in a Waldorf bathroom, placing Elizabeth at the scene of a headline-worthy scandal: “Murder of a Society Dame.” Now Elizabeth will have to get the scoop on the killer before her good name gets dragged through the gossip columns—or worse. . . .

From a Goodreads Review:

"What absolute fun! Penned with wit, humor and style, MURDER, SHE REPORTED gets my definite, “Yes!”

Catch up with me on Facebook!




5 comments:

  1. That sounds like a nice variation.
    What do the noodles end up like? Crunchy? Softened by the vinaigrette?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Libby, they retain some crunch but do soften a bit from the vinaigrette. I'll eat anything with a crunch so I loved it!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I think when I make this I'll add back in the avocado. Love them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love them, too. But for some reason I didn't know if I'd like them in this salad. Next time I do want to try the mango which I also love.

      Delete
  4. Sounds good, love the avocado!

    ReplyDelete