Saturday, April 21, 2018

Sheet Pan Nachos #Recipe @PegCochran




I think I've mentioned this before--I like to think of Friday nights as "fun food nights."  Meaning I don't worry about a green vegetable (we probably won't get scurvy if we skip our veggie once a week) and I don't make anything too "serious" for dinner.  Sometimes it's take-out--pizza or Chinese or Thai food--and sometimes it's tacos or BLTs.  I was feeling in the mood for something with a Mexican flair but I didn't want tacos.  Bingo! How about nachos?

I found a recipe for "sheet pan nachos" where everything is loaded onto a cookie sheet and put into the oven.  I decided to try it.

Note:  All toppings are optional--use what you like and skip the rest or add ideas of your own!!

You'll need:
12 ounces ground chuck
1 small onion, chopped
1/2 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. chili powder
salt and pepper to taste
9 ounces corn tortilla chips
1 15-ounce can pinto beans, drained and rinsed or 1 can black beans
12 ounces shredded Mexican cheese blend or freshly grated sharp cheddar
1/2 cup minced red onion
1/4 cup pickled jalapeno slices (optional)
1 avocado, diced
1/2 cup sour cream
1/3 cup sliced black olives
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1 cup salsa, jarred or fresh (I prefer fresh)

First preheat your oven to 400 degrees. 

Place ground chuck and onion in pan, sprinkle with spices and cook, stirring, until meat is no longer pink.  Using a slotted spoon, transfer mixture to a plate lined with paper towels to soak up extra grease.

Line a rimmed cookie sheet with foil.  Spread chips on the bottom in a single layer.  Top with meat mixture, beans and cheese.




Bake until cheese melts and chips are beginning to brown slightly on the edges--about 8 minutes or so.



Top with red onion, jalapeno if desired, avocado, sour cream and cilantro.  Serve salsa on the side.







OUT NOW--BOOK #4 IN THE CRANBERRY COVE SERIES



Amazon
Amazon Print
Barnes & Noble

It’s a marriage made in murder in the new Cranberry Cove Mystery from USA Today bestselling author Peg Cochran!

The long-awaited wedding of Monica and Greg is the highlight of the harvest season in Cranberry Cove, drawing friends from far and wide to help them celebrate. Among the guests are an old college friend of Monica’s and the woman’s boisterous new husband, a man with many enemies and more than a few bitter women in his past. When he turns up dead on a boat, the victim of a fatal stabbing, Monica steps in once again to unravel the mystery.

As she dredges up clues and wades through a long list of suspects, Monica’s sleuthing becomes all the more pressing when the local police are convinced that her friend did the deed. Monica will have to clear her name fast and track down the real culprit as the killer threatens to bring her sweet wedded bliss to a bitter end.

Includes tasty recipes!
 

***

Pre-Order Now! Coming June 2018

Barnes and Noble
 Amazon


RT MAGAZINE TOP PICK!!



“The clever ‘Dear Reader’ asides serve up just the right amount of dry wit, and the occasional blog post snippet provides readers with some helpful tips alongside their mystery. The case is always well plotted, and the fictitious Michigan small-town setting provides an intriguing supporting cast with a bevy of interesting personalities. Readers will root for Shelby to solve the case and stay on the edge of their seats until she does.”
– RT Reviews
 
***



PRE-ORDER NOW! COMING JULY 31



Barnes & Noble


A Park Avenue princess discovers the dark side of 1930s New York when a debutante ball turns deadly in this gripping historical mystery for readers of Victoria Thompson, Anne Perry, and Rhys Bowen.

Manhattan, 1938. Tired of being trapped in the gilded cage of her family’s expectations, Elizabeth Adams has done what no self-respecting socialite would think to do: She’s gotten herself a job. Although Elizabeth’s dream is to one day see her photographs on the front page of the Daily Trumpet, for now she’s working her way up as the newsroom’s gal Friday.

But fetching coffee isn’t exactly her idea of fun, so when veteran reporter Ralph Kaminsky needs a photographer to fill in for a last-minute assignment, Elizabeth jumps at the chance. At the Waldorf Hotel, Elizabeth is tasked with tracking down the season’s “It girl,” Gloria DeWitt, who will be making her society debut. Working her own connections to New York’s upper crust, Elizabeth manages to land an exclusive interview with Gloria.

Then Gloria’s stepmother is shot dead in a Waldorf bathroom, placing Elizabeth at the scene of a headline-worthy scandal: “Murder of a Society Dame.” Now Elizabeth will have to get the scoop on the killer before her good name gets dragged through the gossip columns—or worse. . . .

Praise for Peg Cocrhan

“Cochran has a truly entertaining writing style that is filled with humor, mystery, fun, and intrigue.”—Open Book Society

Catch up with me on Facebook!

9 comments:

  1. Great idea nachos on a sheet pan! I am going to do this! Love your books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Dee! This is a great way to make nachos for a crowd! And they're great for dinner occasionally, too, as a treat.

      Delete
  2. Great idea! We love Mexican food and we are always looking for new ways to make it!
    Love your books and I am looking forward to reading Murder, She Reported!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Deb! The nachos were delicious and so easy to do!

      Delete
  3. I'm really looking forward to Murder, She Reported.

    This looks like a nice addition to the usual Cinco de Mayo fare.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's great if you want to feed a crowd.

      Delete
  4. It's funny how I get so stuck in a rut in my cooking. Had found this to be very popular in my family when the kids were younger and then I fell out of the habit. Am so glad to be reminded of this fun and relaxing meal!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was fun! And it feels wicked but really it's pretty good for you--meat, beans (healthy fiber), cheese and veggies.

      Delete
  5. That looks so good! I will definitely have to try this! Thank you!

    ReplyDelete